Making Democracy Work

About the League

What is our mission? How are we structured? What is our history? What do we do? What are some of our studies? What are some of our positions?

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • League Studies: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.

  • Action/Advocacy: we are also nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the League of Women Voters Education Fund, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.

Our Mission Statement, Core Values and Principles guide our activities.

League Organizational Structure

Our league, the League of Women Voters of New Castle County (LWVNCC), is one of three local Leagues in the state. The other local Leagues in Delaware are Kent County and Sussex County.

league structure - LWVNCC
Members join the League at the local (county) level, which also automatically makes them members of our parent organizations...

Each local league, and the league at the DE state level, has its own board of directors and its own website. But we all share a common LWVDE Facebook group.


<== Follow the League of Women Voters of Delaware on Facebook!

To locate a League in another state, use the Find a Local League page on the LWVUS website.

Board of Directors for LWVNCC

Officers (2017-2019)
  • Marjorie Johnson, President
  • [ vacant seat ], 1st Vice President
  • Patti Christopher, 2nd Vice President
  • Carmela Longobardi, Secretary
  • Katharine Olinchak, Treasurer

  • Lorraine Botticelli
  • Joann Hasse
  • Moonyeen Klopfenstein
  • Barbara Mobarak
  • Beatrice Webb
  • Kim Wells
  • Fay Whittle
Nominating Committee
  • Cami Seward, Chair
  • Linda Barnett
  • Melissa Hopkins
  • Board reps: Lorraine Botticelli and Kim Wells


Our by-laws are available to read in PDF format.

About the League of Women Voters

Read a short history of the League of Women Voters.

Watch a brief We Are the League video on YouTube.

Or listen to this 30-minute podcast The Value of Nonpartisanship in a Polarizing World by energetic League volunteers Amy Hjerstedt and Melissa Currence for a good introduction to what League of Women Voters USA is all about.

Meet our members! To hear current members of the League of Women Voters of Delaware share their stories, please click on the video below.

LWV of Delaware: Members Speak from Nancy Breslin on Vimeo.